DUI And Alcohol-Related Offenses

DUI and other alcohol-related charges can have dire consequences that include jail time, fines, loss of driving privileges and mandatory Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program completion.

There are no more hard and fast rules about taking a Breathalyzer test or doing a field sobriety test when you are suspected of drunk driving. The rules have become so complicated that it is vital to have a DUI attorney involved as soon as possible.

Knowledge Of DUI Laws

I am John Spencer, founding attorney of the largest criminal defense law firm in the Fredericksburg area. I understand complex DWI laws in Virginia and the penalties you can face if you are convicted. You will receive legal advice from a lawyer who cares about protecting your future.

Offenses involving alcohol can result in serious consequences, even for misdemeanors. I have represented individuals facing a variety of charges, including:

  • DUI
  • Manslaughter
  • Underage possession of alcohol
  • Giving alcohol to a minor (contributing to the delinquency of a minor)
  • Drunk in public

These charges can have a major impact on your life and could potentially harm your ability to find employment. I can review your case and see what options are available to find the best outcome.

Penalties For DUI Convictions

The penalties for DUI convictions are severe.

  • DUI first offense: mandatory minimum fine of $250 and revocation of your driver's license for one year
  • DUI second offense: mandatory minimum fine of $500, driver's license revocation for three years and possible one year in jail
  • DUI second offense within 10 years: mandatory minimum fine of $500, driver's license revocation for three years and mandatory 10 days in jail
  • DUI second offense within five years: same fine and license revocation as above, plus a mandatory minimum 20 days in jail
  • DUI third offense or DWI felony: mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, indefinite driver's license revocation and is considered a Class 6 felony

Individuals convicted of a first offense DUI in Virginia are required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. If you fail to follow the requirements by the court or Department of Motor Vehicles requirements and are convicted of a first-offense violation of the ignition interlock restriction, the DMV will revoke your driving privileges for one year.

Contact Me To Discuss Your Case

Do not handle DUI and alcohol-related offenses on your own. I can walk you through the process and ease your fears. To schedule a free initial consultation, call my law office at 540-369-6430, my cellphone at 703-608-2167 or contact me online.